Innistrad: Crimson Vow's Mechanics - Ask the Judge!
In this article, we talk about some rulings and mechanics from the new set, Innistrad: Crimson Vow!
Exploit. Basically, “Exploit” indicates an ability when the creature enters the battlefield (no matter where it came from, or whether it was put or cast, etc.). You
maysacrifice a creature you control (including the creature itself) and thereby gain some effect — for example, the Mindleech Ghoul above, which exiles a card from each opponent's hand. Now let's get to know the new mechanics:
An important note:it has already been anticipated that there will be a change to the rule regarding the name of tokens, which will be called "NAME token" when created. In practice, this basically prevents you from using cards like Pithing Needle to name “Blood”, “Clue”, “Treasure”, etc., and thus prevent the activated effects of these tokens. Instead, you'd have to name the exact token name, such as "Blood Token" or "Clue Token".
Cleave, causes some words in spell text to be “removed” when you pay the alternate cost. That is, a card like "Wash Away", for a cost of U, will have the effect: "counter target spell that wasn't cast from its controller's hand". However, if you pay the 1UU cost, the effect will then be “counter target spell”, ignoring the text in square brackets. What to Remember: Paying the alternate cost doesn't change the spell's original characteristics, such as mana value or color. Wash Away, for example, even if you cast it with Cleave, it's still a spell with a Mana Value of 1 — if there's a Chalice of the Void for 1 on the board, it'll be countered. Another spell revealed, Dig Up, has a Cleave cost mixing green and black mana, but the original spell is only green—cards that interact with black spells won't affect it.