Magic: the Gathering

أخبار

Edge of Eternities: Magic Fixes Card Text Ahead of Set's Release

, محدث , 0Comment Regular Solid icon0Comment iconComment iconComment iconComment icon

The card game's official website issued a statement correcting the rules text for the Diplomatic Relations card, whose printed text omitted an essential line that altered its gameplay functions

Writer image

تمت الترجمة بواسطة Cards Realm

Writer image

تمت مراجعته من قبل Romeu

Edit Article

Wizards of the Coast published an official statement on Monday (21) to correct the rules text of Diplomatic Relations, from Edge of Eternitieslink outside website. The card was printed with an essential line omitted, which altered its functioning during play.

Loading icon

The initial printed version of the card reads: "“Target creature gets +1/+0 and gains vigilance until end of turn. It deals damage equal to its power to target creature an opponent controls.”.

However, the correct wording—which will be updated on the digital platforms Magic Arena, Magic Online, and the Gatherer database—adds the important restriction: “Target creature you control gets +1/+0 and gains vigilance until end of turn. It deals damage equal to its power to target creature an opponent controls.”.

This fix prevents interpretations that would allow the card to operate as a removal similar to Murder but in green, where an incorrect reading could induce players to make an opponent's creature deal damage to another of the same player, or the opponent's creature deal damage equal to its power to itself.

The statement highlights that the change is already available in digital versions and will serve as a reference for the rules in tabletop format matches, including official events.

Image content of the Website

This is the first time in eight years that Magic: The Gathering has had an errata in a card text before an set's release: in 2017, the card Hostage Taker needed an emergency fix because its original text did not include a restriction on exiling another creature. This allowed Hostage Taker to exile itself if the battlefield was empty, forcing an indefinite loop that would lead to a draw.

Source: DailyMTG